Localism Bill — Clause 130 — Flexible Tenancies — Safeguards for Exsiting Secure Tenancies — 18 May 2011 at 18:13

The majority of MPs voted against safeguards preventing the conversion of secure tenancies to new "Flexible" tenancies.

MPs were considering the Localism Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment : 271, page 115, line 7, at end insert—
  • ‘(2A) Subsection (2) shall not apply to a secure tenancy if immediately before the tenancy was granted the person who became the tenant under the tenancy, or in the case of joint tenants, one or more of them was—
  • (a) a secure tenant of the same or another dwelling-house, or
  • (b) an assured tenant of a private registered provider of social housing or a registered social landlord (otherwise than under an assured shorthold tenancy) in respect of the same or another dwelling-house.’.

Had it not been rejected the above text would have been added to Clause 130[2] of the Bill. It would have prevented individuals in the situations described in the amendment from having their tenancies transformed into a new "Flexible" tenancy.

During the debate Alison Seabeck MP (Plymouth, Moor View, Labour) stated[3]:

  • Amendment 271 is intended to address the threat in the Bill to take security of tenure away from existing social tenants.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con256 (+1 tell) 2084.6%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.8%
LDem38 (+1 tell) 3073.7%
PC0 30100.0%
Total:294 227083.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)aye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)aye
Stephen GilbertSt Austell and NewquayLDem (front bench)aye
Dan RogersonNorth CornwallLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive