European Union Bill — Inconsequential wording change : supporting to permitting — 8 Jun 2011 at 18:25

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to make an inconsequential change to the wording of the European Union Bill[1].

The majority of Contents agreed to make the following amendment to Clause 1 of the European Union Bill[2]:

‘leave out out "supporting" and insert "permitting"’ from this text:

'A reference to a Minister of the Crown voting in favour of or otherwise supporting a decision is a reference to a Minister of the Crown voting in favour of or otherwise supporting the decision in the European Council or the Council.'

Clause 1 offers explanatory notes that aid the understanding and intended meaning of terms used in Part 1 of the bill.

The debate reveals the amendment was proposed "in a purely formal way", in an effort to seek reassurances, so apparently was not intended to be, and doesn't appear to be, substantive.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con5 143 (+1 tell)67.1%
Crossbench47 (+1 tell) 729.3%
DUP1 025.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab153 (+1 tell) 062.9%
LDem6 59 (+1 tell)69.5%
Other1 011.1%
UKIP0 2100.0%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:214 21356.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bew Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Chorley Crossbenchno
Lord Dannatt Crossbenchno
Lord Deben Conaye
Lord Dykes LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Eames Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Lord Goodhart LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Howe of AberavonCon (front bench)aye
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Maclennan of RogartLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Rodgers of Quarry BankLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Swinfen Con (front bench)aye
Lord Taverne LDemaye
Lord Tugendhat Con (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive