European Union Bill — Suspension of Requirement for Referendum on Certain EU Decisions — 13 Jul 2011 at 20:21

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to strengthen the requirement for a referendum on decisions which increase the powers and competencies of the EU, other than amendments to the core treaties of the EU.

Members of the House of Lords were considering the European Union Bill[1]. The motion rejected in this vote was Motion D1 which stated:

  • As an amendment to Motion D, at end insert "but do propose Amendment 15B in lieu"

Amendment 15B stated:

  • After Clause 21, insert the following new Clause-
  • Suspension of section 6 and Schedule 1
  • In Parliaments subsequent to the Parliament in which this Act is passed the Secretary of State may by order approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament provide that any provision of section 6 or Schedule 1 shall be suspended for the duration of that Parliament or for any lesser period."

The effect of the rejected amendment would have been to allow the requirement for a referendum on decisions which increase the powers and competencies of the EU, other than amendments to the core treaties of the EU, to be suspended.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con138 (+1 tell) 163.1%
Crossbench15 2018.3%
DUP0 250.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab0 112 (+2 tell)46.0%
LDem54 (+1 tell) 1067.0%
UKIP2 0100.0%
UUP1 025.0%
Total:212 14545.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Deben Conaye
Lord Dykes LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Goodhart LDemaye
Lord Lester of Herne HillLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Maclennan of RogartLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove BayLDemaye
Lord Rodgers of Quarry BankLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Strasburger LDemaye
Lord Taverne LDemaye
Baroness Tonge LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemaye
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dear Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Hollins Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchno
Lord Rana Crossbenchno
Lord Scott of FoscoteCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbenchno
Lord Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive