Suspension of Standing Order on Deferred Divisions to Prior to a Motion Appointing a Joint Bill Committee — 18 Jul 2011 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted to suspend the House of Commons' rules on deferring contested votes after a certain point in the day; in this case the action was taken prior to a decision on setting up a committee to consider the Financial Services Bill.

The motion approved in this vote, held at 10pm was:

  • That, at this day's sitting, Standing Order No. 41A (Deferred divisions) shall not apply to the Motion in the name of Sir George Young relating to Draft Financial Services Bill (Joint Committee).

The standing orders require divisions which would have occurred after the "time for the interruption of business" (the time the Standing Orders, or timetabling motions state the business will cease to be considered) will be deferred and held via a recorded vote carried out recorded for two and a half hours after half-past eleven o’clock on Wednesdays.

As it turned out, in this case the motion on the Draft Financial Services Bill (Joint Committee) was passed without a division being called.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con245 (+1 tell) 0080.4%
DUP3 0037.5%
Lab0 6 (+2 tell)03.1%
LDem37 (+1 tell) 0066.7%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP3 0050.0%
Total:290 6046.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive