Protection of Freedoms Bill — Clause 3 — Retention of DNA and Fingerprint Information — 10 Oct 2011 at 20:15

The majority of MPs voted to give ministers the power to prescribe additional circumstances in which fingerprints and DNA may be retained, but only for up to three years, in addition to those circumstances set out in the Bill which covered those arrested but not charged or convicted.

MPs were considering the Protection of Freedoms Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 89, page 3, line 43, leave out from ‘offence’ to end of line 44.

The amendment would have affected Clause 3 of the Bill and would have had the effect of removing the line:

  • any prescribed circumstances apply.

from the proposed new clause 63F to the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984 which the Bill was to introduce. The amendment relates to the destruction of fingerprints and DNA profiles.

Under the Bill proposed prescribed circumstances required the approval of the Commissioner for the Retention and Use of Biometric Material before an order defining them could be made.

There is no word "offence" on page 3 line 43 of either of the HTML versions of the Bill published prior to the vote[2][3]; making the amendment appear nonsensical, however the PDF version of the Bill as at the time of the vote[4] has different page numbering to which the amendment appears to relate.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con243 (+2 tell) 5081.7%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab2 218 (+2 tell)086.0%
LDem46 1082.5%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:291 232082.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
David NuttallBury NorthConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive