Education Bill — Report (1st Day) — 18 Oct 2011 at 19:08

Amendments 8 to 10 not moved.

Clause 3 : Powers of members of staff at further education institutions to search students

Amendments 11 to 14 not moved.

Clause 4 : Exclusion of pupils from schools in England: review

Amendment 15

Moved by Lord Low of Dalston

15: Clause 4, page 8, line 22, at end insert-

"( ) Regulations must make provision that if a pupil has been excluded from school for a fixed period on two or more occasions in a 12 month period or is at risk of permanent exclusion, a head teacher shall ensure that-

(a) there is an assessment of whether that child has unidentified learning needs;

(b) there is a review of the effectiveness of the special educational provision being made if that pupil has identified special educational needs;

(c) there is a review of the effectiveness of the reasonable adjustments being made if that pupil has disability."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con95 (+1 tell) 043.0%
Crossbench9 2015.3%
DUP4 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 109 (+2 tell)44.8%
LDem58 (+1 tell) 062.1%
PC0 1100.0%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP1 025.0%
Total:168 13139.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbenchno
Lord Bilimoria Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of ErrollCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
The Earl of LyttonCrossbenchno
Lord Northbourne Crossbenchno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Laird UUPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive