Public Bodies Bill — Schedule 1 — Power to Abolish Agricultural Wages Board — 25 Oct 2011 at 19:15

The majority of MPs voted to give a minister the power to abolish the Agricultural Wages Board for England and Wales.

The board was an independent statutory body which set minimum wage rates and other minimum employment terms and conditions for agricultural workers in England and Wales.[1]

MPs were considering the Public Bodies Bill[2]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 32, page 21, line 11, leave out
  • ‘Agricultural Wages Board for England and Wales’.

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have removed the ‘Agricultural Wages Board for England and Wales' from Schedule 1[3] to the Public Bodies Bill. Clause 1 of the Bill, in subclause 1 stated:

  • A Minister may by order abolish a body or office specified in Schedule 1.

The Agricultural Wages Board (AWB) was set up in 1948 to provide a fair wage and skills structure for agricultural workers[4].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con249 (+2 tell) 1082.4%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 210 (+2 tell)082.2%
LDem43 1077.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:296 219081.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive