Procedural Motion — Daylight Saving Bill — Clause 4 — Motion to Bring Debate to a Close and Move to a Vote — 20 Jan 2012 at 13:45

The majority of MPs voted to close the debate on a series of amendments to the Daylight Saving Bill and move to a vote on if the approval of the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly ought be required before advancing time in the UK by an hour.

MPs were considering the Daylight Saving Bill[1]. The motion passed in this vote was:

  • That the Question be now put.

The matter under consideration at the time was:

  • Amendment 13, page 2, line 27, at end insert
  • ‘the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly’.

Had it not been rejected this would have affected Clause 4 of the Bill[2] and required the approval of the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly before making a "daylight saving order". A daylight saving order was defined in the clause as an order to "make provision for advancing the time for general purposes in the United Kingdom by one hour". (See the PublicWhip page on the substantive vote

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con66 (+2 tell) 7 (+2 tell)025.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab43 0016.7%
LDem14 0024.6%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:124 10022.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Jackie Doyle-PriceThurrockCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)tellno
Matthew OffordHendonConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)no
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)no
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive