Daylight Saving Bill — Clause 4 — Approval of Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly Before Advancing Time in the UK by an Hour — 20 Jan 2012 at 13:49

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the approval of the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly before advancing time in the UK by an hour.

MPs were considering the Daylight Saving Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 13, page 2, line 27, at end insert
  • ‘the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly’.

Had it not been rejected this would have affected Clause 4 of the Bill[2] and required the approval of the Scottish Parliament and the Welsh Assembly before making a "daylight saving order". A daylight saving order was defined in the clause as an order to "make provision for advancing the time for general purposes in the United Kingdom by one hour". (See the PublicWhip page on the substantive vote

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con63 (+2 tell) 10024.5%
Lab43 0016.7%
LDem13 0022.8%
SNP0 1 (+2 tell)050.0%
Total:119 11021.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Therese CoffeySuffolk CoastalConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Jackie Doyle-PriceThurrockCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Matthew OffordHendonConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)aye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive