Local Government Finance Bill — New Clause 7 — Annual Reset of Business Rate Retention System — 24 Jan 2012 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted against an annual reset of the system for business rate retention by local councils.

The Local Government Finance Bill introduced local retention business rates along with a system of a levy and safety net to dampen variations in funding and a provision for payments of a "central share" to the Secretary of State.

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was:

  • ‘(1) The Secretary of State shall be required to make arrangements for a “reset” of the non-domestic rates retention system every three years.
  • (2) Any such reset must include consideration of—
  • (a) relative spending needs of each authority,
  • (b) relative resources available through council tax income,
  • (c) relative resources available through non-domestic rates.
  • (3) The assessment of relative need shall be determined in full consultation with local government.’.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con247 (+1 tell) 0081.0%
DUP5 0062.5%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.5%
LDem45 (+1 tell) 0080.7%
Total:297 218082.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive