Local Government Finance Bill — Clause 8 — Council Tax Reduction Schemes — 31 Jan 2012 at 19:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring local councils to consider the impact of schemes to reduce council tax for those in financial need on those in, or seeking employment, and on levels of poverty, including child poverty, in the area.

The text of the rejected amendment was:

  • amendment 66, page 5, line 6, at end insert—
  • ‘(1A) In exercising its powers under section 1(b) the authority must have regard to the impact of the scheme on—
  • (a) those persons in the area who are in employment or actively seeking employment, and
  • (b) the levels of poverty in the area, including the levels of child poverty.’.

The amendment would have resulted in the above text being added to clause 8[1] of the Local Government Finance Bill[2].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con245 (+2 tell) 0080.7%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 222 (+2 tell)086.8%
LDem46 2084.2%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:291 233083.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike HancockPortsmouth Southwhilst LDem (front bench)aye
David WardBradford EastLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive