Local Government Finance — Thresholds for Referendums Relating to Council Tax Increases — 8 Feb 2012 at 18:47

The majority of MPs voted in favour of setting the threshold of council tax increases for 2012-13 which would prompt a referendum at either 3.5% or 4% depending on the body concerned.

The majority of MPs supported the motion moved by Grant Shapps MP[1] which stated:

  • That the Referendums Relating to Council Tax Increases (Principles) (England) Report 2012-13[2], which was laid before this House on 31 January, be approved.

The thresholds contained in the report and approved for 2012-13 were:

  • Greater London Authority : 3.5% in the City of London and 4% elsewhere.
  • Any police authority or fire and rescue authority : 4%
  • Any authority which has power in relation to 2012-13 to calculate basic amounts of council tax for its predecessor areas under Part 4 of the 2008 Regulations : 3.5%
  • Any other authority : 3.5%


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con252 (+1 tell) 0082.7%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 205 (+2 tell)080.2%
LDem40 (+1 tell) 2075.4%
Total:292 213080.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike HancockPortsmouth Southwhilst LDem (front bench)no
David WardBradford EastLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive