Health and Social Care Bill Risk Register — 22 Feb 2012 at 18:48

The majority of MPs voted against publication of the risk register associated with the Health and Social Care Bill.

The motion voted on was:

  • That this House
  • calls on the Government to respect the ruling by the Information Commissioner and to publish the risk register associated with the Health and Social Care Bill in order to ensure that it informs public and parliamentary debate.

This motion appears to relate to the document also known as the "NHS transition risk register". The content of the NHS transition risk register has been described in an article from the Guardian[1]:

  • "The edited risk register describes each of the nine areas of concern identified by health officials and discussed with ministers, including problems of co-ordinating the planning and implementation of the complex network of old NHS organisations being phased out and new bodies being created, such as Primary Care Trusts being replaced by GP commissioning groups. Other issues covered are the risk of damaging staff morale and the danger that widespread opposition will lead to the bill being delayed from becoming law while the reforms are already under way."

Parliament's webpage on the Health and Social Care Bill[2] links to documents[3] including impact assessments.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con266 (+1 tell) 0087.3%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 231 (+2 tell)090.3%
LDem33 (+1 tell) 4066.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:299 246085.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)aye
Mike HancockPortsmouth Southwhilst LDem (front bench)aye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDem (front bench)aye
John PughSouthportLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive