Finance Bill — Clause 4 — Phasing Out of Additional Tax Free Income Tax Allowance for Those Aged 65 or over — 19 Apr 2012 at 16:38

The majority of MPs voted for phasing in a single tax free income tax personal allowance for all (rather than having an additional tax free allowance for those over 65).

The motion MPs rejected was:

I beg to move amendment 65, page 2, line 37, leave out subsection (2)

This amendment would have removed the provision (Clause 4(2)[1]) that would have changed the eligibility for the main income tax personal allowance from being "under 65" to "born after 5 April 1948". This would mean from 2013 onwards those over 65 would become eligible for the main income tax personal allowance.

The change provided for in the Finance Bill was associated with a phasing out of the additional tax free income tax allowance for those aged 65 or over; and introducing a single personal allowance for all.

The chancellor, George Osborne MP explained the change during his March 2012 budget speech[2]:

  • So over time we will simplify the tax system for pensioners by doing away with the complexity of the additional age-related allowances for anyone reaching the age of 65 on or after 6 April 2013, and I will freeze the cash value of the allowance for existing pensioners until it aligns with the personal allowance. This will protect the existing level of allowance pensioners have while introducing a new single personal allowance for all.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con257 (+1 tell) 2085.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 218 (+2 tell)085.6%
LDem41 (+1 tell) 1075.4%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:298 231084.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Mike HancockPortsmouth Southwhilst LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive