Financial Services Bill — Clause 5 — New Regulators for Financial Service and Insurance Industries — 23 Apr 2012 at 22:12

The majority of MPs voted in favour of new regulators for the financial services and insurance industries.

MPs were considering the Financial Services Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 28, page 15, line 4, leave out clause 5.

Clause 5 of the Bill[2] titled The new Regulators provided for the creation of The Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority.

Specifically the Bill provided the Financial Services Authority is renamed as the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority Limited is renamed as the Prudential Regulation Authority.

The duties, functions and objectives of the bodies are set out in the Bill. The Financial Services Authority's objectives relate to consumer protection objective, integrity, and competition. The Prudential Regulation Authority is an insurance industry regulator tasked with contributing to the securing of an appropriate degree of protection for those who are or may become policyholders; its objective is promoting the safety and soundness of those authorised by the authority.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con245 (+1 tell) 0080.4%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab0 205 (+2 tell)080.5%
LDem46 (+1 tell) 0082.5%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:301 205079.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive