Civil Aviation Bill — Clause 18 — Airport Operator Licence Holders — Passenger Welfare Plans — 25 Apr 2012 at 18:35

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the holder of an airport operator's licence to develop passenger welfare plans.

Airport operators' licences are regulatory tools only required where an operator has substantial market power and there is a risk they may engage in conduct that amounts to an abuse of that substantial market power.[1]

MPs were considering the Civil Aviation Bill[2]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment: 9, page 13, line 17, at end add—
  • ‘(3) A licence must include provisions requiring the holder of a licence to develop passenger welfare plans.

Had it not been rejected the amendment have resulted in an additional subsection in Clause 18[3] which relates to licence conditions.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con234 (+1 tell) 0076.8%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)077.4%
LDem39 (+1 tell) 0070.2%
PC0 1033.3%
Respect0 10100.0%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:274 204075.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive