Electoral Registration and Administration Bill — Clause 4 — Annual Electoral Registration Canvass To Take Place in October — 18 Jun 2012 at 21:15

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the annual distribution of electoral registration forms and subsequent activity to update the electoral register to take place in October.

MPs were considering the Electoral Registration and Administration Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 6, page 3, line 39, leave out from ‘canvass’

to end of line and insert—

  • ‘(1A) The annual canvass must be held during the month of October every year in relation to the area for which the officer acts.’.

Had the amendment not been rejected the above text would have been added to the end of Clause 4[2] of the Bill titled Annual canvass which relates to the maintenance of register of eligible voters and starts:

  • Each registration officer in Great Britain must conduct an annual canvass in relation to the area for which the officer acts.

A canvass involves sending out voter registration forms and potentially following up forms which are, or are not, returned with inquiries.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con241 (+1 tell) 0079.1%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 199 (+2 tell)078.2%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0075.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:287 211078.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive