Electoral Registration and Administration Bill — Third Reading — Individual voter registration etc. — 27 Jun 2012 at 18:38

The majority of MPs voted in favour of individual voter registration and other changes to electoral registration and the administration of elections.

MPs were voting on the Electoral Registration and Administration Bill at its third reading; their support allowed it to continue its path towards becoming law.

The key areas of the Bill include:

  • Introducing individual voter registration.
  • Extending the electoral timetable for UK Parliamentary elections from 17 to 25 working days
  • Allowing Police Community Support Officers ("PCSOs") to enter polling stations (as police constables already could)
  • Removing the automatic postponement of parish and community council elections in England and Wales that occurred when a Parliamentary or European Parliamentary general election fell on the ordinary day for local government elections.

In the programme for Government the Government committed to an individual electoral registration system that would: "Reduce electoral fraud by speeding up the implementation of individual voter registration."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con235 (+1 tell) 0077.1%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 198 (+2 tell)077.8%
LDem49 (+1 tell) 0087.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:284 204077.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive