Finance Bill — Clause 1 — Additional Rate of Income Tax — 2 Jul 2012 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted to set the additional rate of income tax, applying to income over £150,000 per year, at 45% for 2013-14 (a reduction from the previous rate of 50%).

MPs were considering the Finance Bill when they voted on:

  • amendment 1[1], page 2, line 6, leave out paragraph (c).

The paragraph (c) in question was in clause 1 of the Finance Bill[2] and set the additional rate of income tax for 2013-14 at 45%. Had the paragraph been removed there would have been no additional rate of income tax for 2013-14.

The MP who moved the amendment Cathy Jamieson claimed during the debate:

  • Amendments 1 and 2 would remove the cut in the top tax rate for people earning more than £150,000 a year

The Finance Bill was not amending the previous rates of income tax, but setting them for 2013-14.

At the time of the vote the additional rate was 50% charged on income over £150,000 per year, as it had been since the additional rate had been introduced in 2010-11[4][5]. The Finance Bill contained a provision to set the rate at 45% for 2013-14.

Had the amendment passed the intent of the mover, and the intent of the House of Commons may have been taken into account and further amendments to effect that intent may have been moved.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con267 (+1 tell) 0087.6%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 221 (+2 tell)086.8%
LDem46 (+1 tell) 0082.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:315 233086.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive