Finance Bill 2012 — Third Reading — 3 Jul 2012 at 22:43

The majority of MPs voted to to raise the basic income tax free allowance, cut corporation tax, and to support other tax changes proposed in the Finance Bill.

The majority of MPs voted in support of the Finance Bill 2012 at its third reading; expressing support the Bill as it stood and allowing it to go on to become law.

Key provisions in the bill included:

  • to levy an income tax for 2012/13
  • to set the basic rate limit for income tax at £34,370 (down from £35,000 previously)
  • to increase the basic personal income tax free allowance to £8,105 (up from £7,475 previously)
  • to begin the process of phasing out the additional income tax free allowance for those aged over 65
  • to reduce the main rate of corporation tax to 24% (down from 25%)
  • to impose a new income tax charge on one of those earning over £50,000 in a household where child benefit is received.
  • to support motorists with the cost of fuel, the Government will defer the 3.02ppl fuel duty increase that would have taken effect on 1 August 2012 to 1 January 2013. Clause 188 provides for this.
  • Rates of alcoholic liquor duties were increased
  • Rates of Air Passenger Duty were increased


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con263 (+1 tell) 0086.3%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.8%
LDem45 (+1 tell) 0080.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:308 232084.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive