Draft Jobseeker's Allowance (Sanctions) (Amendment) Regulations 2012 — Three Tier Sanctions for Jobseeker's Allowance — 12 Sep 2012 at 18:58

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield voted for a new three tier sanctions regime for Jobseeker’s Allowance claimants.

The majority of MPs voted for the introduction of a new three tier sanctions regime for Jobseeker’s Allowance claimants.

The three tiers are:

  • 13 weeks for a first failure;
  • 26 weeks for a second failure committed within 52 weeks of the previous failure; and
  • 156 weeks (3 years) for a third or subsequent failure committed within 52 weeks of a previous failure that resulted in a 26 week sanction.

During the sanction periods claimants become ineligible for Jobseeker’s Allowance but can apply for hardship payments.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs was:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con220 (+2 tell) 0072.8%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 168 (+2 tell)066.1%
LDem35 0061.4%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:255 177068.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive