Local Government Finance Bill — Review Localised Council Tax Support After Three Years — 31 Oct 2012 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against a review of localised council tax support after three years of operation.

The Bill provided for abolishing the national council tax benefit and replacing it with local council tax reduction schemes.

The text of the rejected amendment was:

  • That amendment (a) to Lords amendment 3 be made.

During debate MP Helen Jones explained the purpose of the amendment[1]:

  • Amendment 3 was moved in the other place by my noble Friend Baroness Hollis of Heigham. It calls for one very simple thing: a review of how the new system for council tax support is working three years after the Bill as enacted comes into effect. We tabled amendment (a) to make clear the original intention of the amendment in applying only to England because this is a devolved matter in Wales.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con265 (+1 tell) 0087.2%
DUP0 4050.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 235 (+2 tell)093.3%
LDem47 (+1 tell) 0084.2%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:312 245088.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive