Regional Pay (NHS) — 7 Nov 2012 at 15:50

The majority of MPs voted to support regionally varying pay in the NHS.

MPs voted to reject a motion moved by Andy Burnham MP (Leigh, Labour) which called on the Government to "uphold the principle of national pay arrangements in the NHS". The full text of the rejected motion was:

  • That this House
  • believes national pay agreements are an important part of the infrastructure that underpins a national health service;
  • notes reports of the statement by the Deputy Prime Minister that there is going to be no regional pay system;
  • further notes with increasing concern attempts by 20 trusts in the South West of England to opt out of national agreements by reducing staff pay and changing terms and conditions;
  • notes with concern that an additional 11 trusts across England are considering similar moves; and
  • calls on the Government to intervene without delay and uphold the principle of national pay arrangements in the NHS.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con246 (+1 tell) 0382.0%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 209 (+2 tell)083.7%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 0078.9%
PC0 1033.3%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:290 223381.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConboth
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)both
Martin VickersCleethorpesCon (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive