Prisons (Property) Bill — Clause 1 — Power to Destroy or Otherwise Dispose of Unauthorised Property or Unattributable Property — 30 Nov 2012 at 11:30

The majority of MPs voted to empower a governor or director of a prison to destroy or otherwise dispose of unauthorised or unattributable articles found in any location a prisoner attends while in custody, rather than just articles found in a prison or prison transport.

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 2, page 1, line 9, leave out ‘,’ and insert ‘or any other location that the prisoner attends while in custody,’.

The provision which would have been affected by the rejected amendment stated:

  • Disposal of unauthorised or unattributable property
  • (1) The governor or director of a prison may destroy or otherwise dispose of, or arrange for the destruction or other disposal of—
  • (a) an article found in the possession of a prisoner who is not authorised to have it in his or her possession, or
  • (b) an article found inside the prison or in a prisoner escort vehicle, otherwise than in the possession of a prisoner, where—
  • (i) the owner of the article is a prisoner who is not authorised to have it in his or her possession, or
  • (ii) the owner of the article cannot be ascertained.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con23 (+2 tell) 2 (+2 tell)09.5%
Lab13 005.0%
LDem4 007.0%
Total:40 207.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)tellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive