Financial Services Bill — Bank of England Oversight Committee — Duty to Monitor Arrangements for Crisis Management — 10 Dec 2012 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the Bank of England's Oversight Committee to monitor the adequacy and effectiveness of the bank's arrangements with the Treasury for crisis management.

MPs were considering the Financial Services Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (b) proposed to Lords amendment 3

Lords amendment 3[2] sought to insert a new clause titled Oversight Committee stating:

  • There is to be a sub-committee of the court of directors of the Bank (“the Oversight Committee”) consisting of the non-executive directors of the Bank.

The clause set out the role of the committee as being to oversee the Bank's performance in relation to its objectives, duties and strategies.

Amendment (b)[3] was an amendment to the Lords amendment and stated:

  • Line 20, at end insert ‘ and
  • (iv) the adequacy and effectiveness of arrangements with the Treasury for crisis management.’.

The amendment sought to add the above as a further area which the Bank of England's Oversight Committee would have to oversee the Bank's performance in relation to.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con252 (+1 tell) 0083.0%
DUP0 1012.5%
Lab0 215 (+2 tell)084.1%
LDem41 (+1 tell) 0073.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:293 224081.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive