Groceries Code Adjudicator Bill — Clause 13 — Recommendations to Office of Fair Trading — 26 Feb 2013 at 15:58

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the Office of Fair Trading to publish a response to any recommendations for changes to the Groceries Code proposed by the Groceries Code Adjudicator.

MPs were considering the Groceries Code Adjudicator Bill[1][2]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: 3, page 5, line 18, at end insert—
  • ‘(2) The Office of Fair Trading shall be required to publish a response to the Adjudicator on the recommendations set out in subsection (1) explaining whether they will be acted upon or not.’.

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have resulted in the above text being added to Clause 13[3] of the Bill which at the time of the vote was titled Recommendations to Office of Fair Trading and stated:

  • If the Adjudicator considers it appropriate for any changes to be made to the Groceries Code, he or she must recommend them to the Office of Fair Trading.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con215 (+2 tell) 1071.5%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 183 (+2 tell)071.7%
LDem38 0067.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:253 200071.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kwasi KwartengSpelthorneCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive