House of Commons Sitting on Friday 22 March 2013 — 6 Mar 2013 at 20:12

The majority of MPs voted for the House of Commons to sit on Friday 22 March 2013 to enable a four day budget debate before a planned commons recess.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House shall sit on Friday 22 March.

Andrew Lansley MP explained the purpose of his motion[1]:

  • The motion adds a further sitting day and its effect will therefore be to allow the four-day Budget debate to take place, as well as to accommodate the opportunity for the Backbench Business Committee to schedule business, including the traditional pre-recess Adjournment debate, on the last day before recess.
  • Sitting on an additional Friday would allow a continuation of the Budget debate but it would not be its last day, so there would be no requirement for Members to vote on that day.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con194 (+1 tell) 5065.6%
DUP0 2025.0%
Lab0 46 (+2 tell)018.6%
LDem27 (+1 tell) 0049.1%
Total:222 53044.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive