Budget Resolution — 31 — Employee Shareholder Scheme Tax Exemptions — 25 Mar 2013 at 21:46

The majority of MPs voted to make up to £2,000 of Employee Shareholder Shares free of income tax and national insurance, and to provide a capital gains tax exemption on up to £50,000 worth of such shares.

The motion approved in this vote was:

  • That provision may be made in connection with the acquisition and disposal of employee shareholder shares.

The employee shareholder scheme is an employee status where an employee is given shares worth at least £2,000 on receipt in return for which the employer is permitted not to extend unfair dismissal rights, rights to statutory redundancy pay and other employment rights to the employee.

The section of the Budget Document[1] relating to the acquisition of such shares stated:

  • To ensure that the first £2,000 of share value received by those adopting the new employee shareholder status is free from income tax and NICs, the

Government will legislate to deem that employee shareholders have paid £2,000 for shares they receive from 1 September 2013, when the new status comes into force.

The section relating to disposal states:

  • As announced on 8 October 2012 and confirmed at Autumn Statement 2012, the Government will exempt from CGT gains on up to £50,000 of shares received by individuals adopting the new employee shareholder employment status. The CGT exemption will apply to shares received from 1 September 2013, when the new status comes into force.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con256 (+1 tell) 0084.3%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 221 (+2 tell)086.4%
LDem43 (+1 tell) 0077.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:299 240084.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive