Finance Bill — Clause 1 — Report on Impact of Additional Rate of Income Tax for Income Over £150,000 — 18 Apr 2013 at 13:15

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a report on the impact of changing the additional rate of income tax, which applies to income over £150,000.

At the time of the vote, during the 2013-14 tax year the additional rate was 45% charged on income over £150,000 per year; prior to that, since its introduction in 2010-11 the rate had been 50%[1][2]. The report the majority of MPs voted against would have reviewed the impact both of the rate cut for 2013-14 and of increasing the rate to back 50% for 2014/15.

The text of the rejected proposed amendment to the Finance Bill stated:

  • (1) The Chancellor of the Exchequer shall, within three months of the passing of this Act, publish a report on the additional rate of income tax.
  • (2) This report shall review the impact upon Exchequer receipts of setting the additional rate to 50 per cent. in tax year 2014-15.
  • (3) The report shall review what impact reducing the additional rate for 2013-14 will have on the amount of income tax currently paid by those with taxable incomes of
  • (a) over £150,000 per year; and
  • (b) over £1,000,000 per year.’.

Had it been accepted the above would have been added to clause one of Bill[3][4].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con231 (+2 tell) 0076.4%
DUP1 0012.5%
Lab0 194 (+2 tell)076.3%
LDem32 0056.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:264 203074.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive