Finance Bill — Clause 3 — Report on Impact of Taxation Changes on Living Standards of Basic Rate Taxpayers — 18 Apr 2013 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a report from the chancellor on the impact of taxation changes on the living standards of basic rate taxpayers.

The amendment rejected in this vote would have added the following clause:

‘(3) The Chancellor shall produce a report on subsection (1) which shall include an assessment of the impact of changes to taxation on the living standards of basic rate taxpayers which shall be placed in the House of Commons Library within three months of Royal Assent.’.

The new sub-clause would have been added to Clause 3[1] of the Finance Bill[2], which sets the threshold between basic and higher rate income tax for 2013-14 at £32,010.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con217 (+1 tell) 0071.5%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 181 (+2 tell)071.2%
LDem31 (+1 tell) 0056.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:248 192069.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive