Finance Bill — Part 2 — Devolution of Wales Long Haul Rates of Duty — 18 Apr 2013 at 17:15

The majority of MPs voted against a proposal from MP Jonathan Edwards (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr, Plaid Cymru) to devolve responsibility for setting the rate of Air Passenger Duty for long haul flights originating in Wales to the National Assembly for Wales.

During the debate preceding the vote Jonathan Edwards MP gave an indication of the motivation behind his proposal[1]:

  • Fifty million pounds of Welsh taxpayers’ money has been spent on buying an airport ... a proposal that would enable the Welsh Government to make the most of that asset.

This vote was on adding a new clause to the Finance Bill[2][3]. The rejected new clause which was one of the changes to the law which would have been required to implement the proposal. The new clause would have amended Section 30 of the Finance Act 1994[4] where the rates of Air Passenger Duty are set.

This vote was preceded by another on a closely related amendment.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con211 (+1 tell) 0069.5%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 100.4%
LDem26 (+1 tell) 0047.4%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)0100.0%
SNP0 5 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Total:237 10039.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive