Finance Bill — New Schedule — Devolution of Air Passenger Duty to Wales — 18 Apr 2013 at 17:15

The majority of MPs voted against a proposal from MP Jonathan Edwards (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr, Plaid Cymru) to devolve responsibility for setting the rate of Air Passenger Duty for long haul flights originating in Wales to the National Assembly for Wales.

During the debate preceding the vote Jonathan Edwards MP gave an indication of the motivation behind his proposal[1]:

  • Fifty million pounds of Welsh taxpayers’ money has been spent on buying an airport ... a proposal that would enable the Welsh Government to make the most of that asset.

This vote was on adding a new Schedule[2] to the Finance Bill[3][4]. The rejected new schedule which was one of the changes to the law which would have been required to implement the proposal.

This vote was preceded by another on a closely related amendment.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con208 (+1 tell) 0068.5%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Lab0 100.4%
LDem25 (+1 tell) 1047.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 5 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Total:233 11038.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive