Public Service Pensions Bill — Schedule 1 — Pension Age for Defence Fire and Rescue Service Firefighters — 22 Apr 2013 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted against setting the pension age for Defence Fire and Rescue Service firefighters at 60, in line with firefighters in regional fire services.

The Defence Fire and Rescue Service, is staffed by civilians.

MPs were considering the Public Service Pensions Bill[1]. The motion approved in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 78.

Amendment 78[2][3] stated:

  • Page 23, line 20, at end insert—
  • “(c) the Defence Fire and Rescue Service”

This amendment added the Defence Fire and Rescue Service to those defined as Fire and rescue workers in Schedule 1[4] to the Public Service Pensions Bill, and so include them as "persons in public service" who the Bill affects.

Clause 9(2) of the Bill[5] provides that the normal pension age for firefighters, members of police forces, and members of the armed forces should be 60, rather than the person’s state pension age, or 65 if that is higher.

The rejected Lords amendment would have included Defence Fire and Rescue Service firefighters among those for whom the lower pension age of 60 would apply.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con241 (+2 tell) 0079.7%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 202 (+2 tell)079.4%
LDem37 2068.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:278 217078.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Michael CrockartEdinburgh WestLDem (front bench)no
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive