Growth and Infrastructure Bill — Employee Shareholder Status — Exemption from Certain Statutory Employment Rights — 23 Apr 2013 at 13:45

The majority of MPs voted to exempt those with employee shareholder status from certain statutory employment rights.

MPs were considering the Growth and Infrastructure Bill[1]. The motion passed in this vote was:

  • That this House insists on its disagreement to Lords amendment 25 but proposes amendments (a) to (e) to the words restored to the Bill by that disagreement.

Lords amendment 25 sought to leave out Clause 27 which provided for a new employment status of "employee shareholder" and for those with such status to be exempted from certain statutory employment rights.

The employee shareholder scheme is an employee status where an employee is given shares worth at least £2,000 on receipt in return for which the employer is permitted not to extend unfair dismissal rights, rights to statutory redundancy pay and other employment rights to the employee.

The proposed amendments[2] offered in light of the Lords' objections provided for series of additional safeguards for the operation of the "employee shareholder" status. In this division the majority of MPs were voting to support the new status, but to add the additional safeguards. One such safeguard provided for a written statement of an employee's status and rights under the scheme.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con231 (+1 tell) 1076.4%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)077.4%
LDem33 (+1 tell) 3166.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:264 220176.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemno
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemno
David WardBradford EastLDem (front bench)no
Mike ThorntonEastleighLDemboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive