Energy Bill — Schedule 14 — Make Consumer Redress Orders Retrospective — 3 Jun 2013 at 20:30

The majority of MPs voted against making a new law requiring energy companies provide redress to consumers who suffer as a result of breaches of regulatory requirements apply to breaches which occurred prior to the law coming into force.

This vote took place while MPs were considering the Energy Bill[1][2]. The vote was on on

  • amendment 2, page 192, line 9, leave out subsection (4).

This would have left our subsection (4) of Clause 30N of Schedule 14 of the Energy Bill[3].

This clause, which remained in the Bill following the vote, stated:

  • The power of the Authority to make a consumer redress order is not exercisable in respect of any contravention before the coming into force of Schedule 14 to the Energy Act 2013.

ie. it made clear that the new law would not be retrospective.

Consumer redress orders require energy companies which breach licence conditions or other relevant regulatory requirements to provide redress to consumers who suffer loss, damage or inconvenience as a result of the breach[4].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con228 (+2 tell) 1075.7%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 208 (+2 tell)081.4%
LDem48 0085.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:276 217077.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Penny MordauntPortsmouth NorthCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive