Energy Bill — Third Reading — 4 Jun 2013 at 18:54

The majority of MPs voted to approve the Energy Bill as it stood at the time of the vote and to allow it to continue on its path to becoming law.

The key elements of the Bill are:

  • Reform of the energy market with "regard" to reducing carbon dioxide emissions, securing supply, considering costs to consumers and an EU target of 15% of UK energy to be supplied from renewable sources by 2020.
  • To give the Secretary of State the power to subsidise electricity generation using renewable, nuclear and carbon capture and storage technologies.
  • To set out the role of the Office for Nuclear Regulation.
  • To make provisions relating to the operation of the government pipe-line and storage system.
  • To introduce "consumer redress orders" to provide redress to consumers who suffer loss, damage or inconvenience as a result of a breach licence conditions or other relevant regulatory requirement.
  • To enable the state to charge prospective nuclear operators for work related to assessing submitted "funded decommissioning programmes".


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con218 (+1 tell) 5 (+2 tell)074.1%
DUP6 1087.5%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab122 2048.1%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0076.8%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:396 8063.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodCon (front bench)no
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive