Finance Bill — New Clause 11 — Stamp Duty Reserve Tax on Surrenders of Units in Unit Trusts — 2 Jul 2013 at 19:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a report on the abolition of Stamp Duty Reserve Tax on surrenders of units in collective investment schemes.

Stamp Duty Reserve Tax (SDRT) is a tax on electronic 'paperless' share transactions; currently set at a flat rate of 0.5 per cent (rounded up or down to the nearest penny) based on what you give for the shares, not what the shares are worth.[1]

The 2013 Budget document states:

  • The Government will abolish the stamp duty reserve tax charge in Schedule 19 Finance Act 1999 on surrenders of units in collective investment schemes

The majority of MPs rejected a proposal to add the following new clause to the Finance Bill:

  • The Chancellor shall, within six months of Royal Assent, publish and lay before the House of Commons a report detailing the distributional impact of any changes to or abolition of Schedule 19 to the Finance Act 1999.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con236 (+1 tell) 0077.7%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 194 (+2 tell)076.0%
LDem37 (+1 tell) 0067.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:274 211076.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive