Finance Bill — Third Reading — 2 Jul 2013 at 20:41

The majority of MPs voted to introduce a general anti-abuse rule to tackle abusive tax avoidance, to raise the basic income tax free allowance, and to support other tax changes proposed in the Finance Bill.

The majority of MPs supported the Finance Bill at its third reading, approving the bill and enabling it to become law. Key provisions in the bill included:

  • to levy an income tax for 2013/14
  • to increase the basic personal income tax free allowance to £9,440
  • to reduce the main rate of corporation tax
  • to introduce a general anti-abuse rule to tackle abusive tax avoidance.
  • to adjust the rates and other arrangements relating to various duties and taxes.
  • to introduce an income tax exemption for certain travel expenses paid to Members of the Scottish Parliament, Members of the National Assembly for Wales, and Members of the Legislative Assembly in Northern Ireland.
  • to introduce a temporary two year increase in the annual investment allowance from £25,000 to £250,000; providing a tax incentive for companies and self employed individuals to invest in assets.
  • rates of alcoholic liquor duties were increased; with the exception of rates applying to standard and lower strength beer which were decreased.
  • to increase Air Passenger Duty


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con239 (+2 tell) 0179.3%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 201 (+2 tell)078.7%
LDem38 0067.9%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:278 216177.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive