Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill — Clause 1 — Transparancy of Political Donations — Start Date — 9 Jul 2013 at 19:15

The majority of MPs voted against allowing ministers to order greater transparency in relation political donations in Northern Ireland, starting with those made after 1 January 2014, rather than as originally proposed, after 1 October 2014.

MPs were considering the Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • amendment 7, page 2, line 25, leave out ‘October’ and insert ‘January’.

This would have affected clause 1 of the Bill which contained provisions to allow for a minister to permit or require the Electoral Commission to publish information about political donations to recipients in Northern Ireland. The Bill as introduced prevented the Minister from ordering the publication of, or otherwise increasing transparency in relation to, such donations made prior to the 1st of October 2014. This amendment sought to change the threshold to 1 January 2014.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con196 (+2 tell) 1 (+1 tell)165.9%
DUP0 6075.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab59 5024.8%
LDem38 0067.9%
SDLP0 1 (+1 tell)066.7%
Total:293 15149.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Nigel MillsAmber ValleyContellaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConboth
David AndersonBlaydonLabaye
Michael ConnartyLinlithgow and East FalkirkLabaye
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Natascha EngelNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive