Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill — Clause 3 — Disqualification of Members of the House of Lords from Membership of Northern Ireland Assembly — 9 Jul 2013 at 20:45

The majority of MPs voted against disqualifying members of the House of Lords from membership of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

MPs were considering the Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • amendment 10, page 4, line 5, after ‘Commons’, insert ‘or House of Lords’.

This would have affected clause 3 of the Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill as introduced[2]. The Bill as it stood contained a provision to disqualify members of the House of Commons from membership of the Northern Ireland Assembly, this amendment would have added members of the House of Lords to those disqualified. A period of 8 days grace is provided for to enable MPs (or had this amendment been accepted, members hof the House of Lords) who are elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly to divest themselves of their membership of the Lords or Commons to enable them to take up their seat in the assembly.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Con177 (+2 tell) 1059.0%
DUP7 0087.5%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 100.4%
LDem29 0051.8%
SDLP0 1 (+1 tell)066.7%
Total:213 4034.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive