Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Bill — Clause 27 — Cap on Spending by 3rd Parties in Elections — 10 Sep 2013 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted to reduce the UK cap on spending by each campaigner in a general election who is not standing or putting up candidates from £988,500 to £390,000; they also voted to significantly reduce the spending threshold for registering as such a campaigner.

MPs were considering the Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Bill[1][2]; they voted on the question:

  • That the clause stand part of the Bill.

The clause which was the subject of the vote was Clause 27[3][4]

The Explanatory notes to the Bill[5] describe the effect of the clause. It sets the registration thresholds for a campaigner in an election, who is not standing or putting up candidates, at £5,000 spent in England or £2,000 spent in each of Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. The previous limits were £10,000 and £5,000 respectively.

The clause would also reduce the cap on spending for a campaigner in an election, who is not standing or putting up candidates, from that set in paragraph 3(2) of Schedule 10 to the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000, of £988,500 to 2% of the maximum campaign expenditure limit ie. £390,000. (This is actually broken down with amounts for each of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con247 (+2 tell) 11085.2%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab0 228 (+2 tell)089.1%
LDem44 0078.6%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:291 260086.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Douglas CarswellClactonConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordConno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConno
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConno
Charlotte LeslieBristol North WestConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive