Care Bill [HL] — Report (4th Day) — 21 Oct 2013 at 17:20

Amendment 168A agreed.

Amendment 141A not moved.

Amendment 142

Moved by Earl Howe

142: After Clause 82, insert the following new Clause-

“Chief Inspectors

After paragraph 3 of Schedule 1 to the Health and Social Care Act 2008 insert-

“Chief Inspectors

3A (1) The non-executive members must-

(a) appoint an executive member to be the Chief Inspector of Hospitals,

(b) appoint an executive member to be the Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care, and

(c) appoint an executive member to be the Chief Inspector of General Practice.

(2) Each of those executive members is to exercise such functions of the Commission on its behalf as it determines.

(3) When exercising functions under sub-paragraph (2), an executive member must have regard to the importance of safeguarding and promoting the Commission’s independence from the Secretary of State.””

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con135 (+1 tell) 061.5%
Crossbench16 2621.9%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 159 (+2 tell)71.6%
LDem64 (+1 tell) 065.7%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:216 18654.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Bichard Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Bilimoria Crossbenchno
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dear Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Janvrin Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Luce Crossbenchno
The Countess of MarCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive