European Union (Referendum) Bill — Clause 1 — Date of Referendum on the UK's Membership of the European Union — 22 Nov 2013 at 11:00

The majority of MPs voted not to exclude the period between 31 July and 1 December 2017 from the potential dates for a referendum on the UK's membership of the EU.

The amendment which was the subject of this vote was moved by Mike Gapes MP and it stated:

  • page 1, line 4, after ‘2017’, insert
  • ‘and not between 31 July and 1 December 2017’

The European Union (Referendum) Bill would have continued to require a referendum be held by the end of 2017 regardless of the result of this vote and if this particular period was included or not.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con262 (+2 tell) 0086.6%
Lab2 7 (+2 tell)04.3%
LDem1 103.6%
Total:265 8044.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive