European Union (Referendum) Bill — Clause 2 — Entitlement of British Overseas Territories Residents to Vote in the Referendum — 29 Nov 2013 at 09:30

The majority of MPs voted against allowing residents of all British Overseas Territories to vote in a referendum on the UK's membership of the EU.

The European Union (Referendum) Bill as introduced[1] stated:

  • Those entitled to vote in the referendum are—
  • (a)the persons who, on the date of the referendum, would be entitled to vote as electors at a parliamentary election in any constituency, and
  • (b)the persons who, on that date, are disqualified by reason of being peers from voting as electors at parliamentary elections.

Mike Gapes MP had proposed an amendment[2] numbered 51 on the day's amendment sheet[3] which would have added another category to that list stating:

  • page 1, line 20, at end insert—
  • ‘(c) residents of all British Overseas Territories.’

There is some discussion in the debate about the potential impact of the referendum on the residents of British Overseas Territories.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con233 (+2 tell) 0077.0%
Lab0 5 (+2 tell)02.7%
LDem0 000.0%
Total:233 5039.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive