European Union (Referendum) Bill — Clause 3 — Deadline for Electoral Commission Recommendations on EU Referendum Rules — 29 Nov 2013 at 12:30

The majority of MPs voted not to set a deadline of 1 March 2015 for the Electoral Commission to publish its recommendations for rules for a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union.

Clause 3 subsection 1 in the bill as introduced[1] stated:

  • The Electoral Commission shall publish a report setting out its recommendations for the rules in accordance with which the referendum is to be conducted, further provisions about the referendum and the application to the referendum of provisions relevant to elections.

Mike Gapes MP moved the amendment[2] which was the subject of this division, it stated:

  • after ‘report’, insert ‘by 1 March 2015’.

Mr Gapes explained the reasoning behind his rejected proposal[3]

  • If the referendum is to be conducted properly, we cannot allow the Electoral Commission’s report to be published so close to the date on which it takes place that the commission’s proposals cannot be properly considered by the Government and then implemented. We must specify a date in order to provide a clear deadline for the commission, which does not always act in a timely manner.

The amendment was number 52 on the amendment sheet[4].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con247 (+2 tell) 0081.6%
Lab0 5 (+2 tell)02.7%
LDem0 000.0%
Total:247 5041.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive