Business of the House — Time for Consideration of Private Members' Bills — 10 Dec 2013 at 14:21

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted to move consideration of Private Members Bills to the end of the day on the 10th of December 2013.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs was:

  • That, at today’s sitting, notwithstanding Standing Order No. 20 (Time for taking private business), the Private Business set down by the Chairman of Ways and Means may be entered upon at any hour, and may then be proceeded with, though opposed, for three hours, after which the Speaker shall interrupt the business.

The approval of the motion led to a suspension of Standing Order No. 20(5)[1] which required opposed Private Members' Bills to be considered at:

  • seven o’clock on any specified Monday, four o’clock on any specified Tuesday or Wednesday or two o’clock on any specified Thursday.

The 10th of December 2013 was a Tuesday.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con217 (+2 tell) 4 (+2 tell)073.8%
DUP3 1050.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab1 100.8%
LDem43 0076.8%
Total:264 7043.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive