Financial Services (Banking Reform) Bill — Daily Information Exchange With Credit Reference Agencies by Those Offering High-Cost Short-Term Credit — 11 Dec 2013 at 16:30

The majority of MPs voted to require rules relating to high-cost short-term credit designed to protect borrowers against excessive charges to be made by 2 January 2015 rather than 1 October 2014.

MPs were considering the Financial Services (Banking Reform) Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (b) proposed to Lords amendment 155.

Lords amendment 155[2][3] proposed a new clause titled “Duty of FCA to make rules restricting charges for high-cost short-term credit which did as the title suggests, and required that the rules are made not later than 2 January 2015 and apply (at least) to agreements entered into on or after that date.

Amendment (b)[4] stated:

  • leave out ‘2 January 2015’ and insert ‘1 October 2014’


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con258 (+1 tell) 0084.9%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.5%
LDem39 (+1 tell) 0071.4%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:297 228082.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive