Energy Bill — Commons Reason — 11 Dec 2013 at 16:24

Motion A

Moved by Baroness Verma

That this House do not insist on its Amendment 105, to which the Commons have disagreed for their Reason 105A.

105: Page 125, line 3, at end insert-

“(iii) substantial pollution abatement equipment dealing with oxides of sulphur, oxides of nitrogen, heavy metal emissions or particles is fitted to the generating station.”

Commons Disagreement and Reason

The Commons disagree to Lords Amendment No 105 for the following reason-


Because it is inappropriate for the fitting of pollution abatement equipment to cause the emissions limit duty to apply to existing generating stations.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 19.1%
Con161 (+1 tell) 170.9%
Crossbench19 44 (+2 tell)34.0%
DUP1 025.0%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge0 213.3%
Lab1 14966.1%
LDem75 (+1 tell) 477.7%
UUP1 1100.0%
Total:260 20358.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchno
Lord Condon Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Deech Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Donoughue Labno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Lord Fellowes Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of GlasgowLDemaye
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Kirkwood of KirkhopeLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Neuberger LDemaye
Lord Rana Crossbenchno
Lord Rennard LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Renton of Mount HarryConaye
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Slim Crossbenchno
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbenchno
Lord Teverson LDemaye
Baroness Tonge LDemaye
Lord Turnbull Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive