Mesothelioma Bill — Clause 2 — Eligiblity for Payments under Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme. — 7 Jan 2014 at 17:00

The majority of MPs voted to make those diagnosed with diffuse mesothelioma since 25 July 2012 rather than since 10 February 2010 potentially eligible for payments under the Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme.

MPs were considering the Mesothelioma Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 5, page 1, line 15, leave out ‘25 July 2012’ and insert ‘10 February 2010’.

This would have affected clause 2(1)(b) of the Bill which remained following the vote as stating:

  • (b) the person was first diagnosed with the disease on or after 25 July 2012

The subclause was part of a list of conditions for eligibility for a payment under the Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme. Other eligibility conditions include:

  • a relevant employer has negligently or in breach of statutory duty caused or permitted the person to be exposed to asbestos,
  • the person has not received damages or a specified payment in respect of the disease and is not eligible to receive a specified payment.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con259 (+2 tell) 0085.6%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 213 (+2 tell)083.7%
LDem44 0078.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:303 232084.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive