Opposition Day — Banking — National Minimum Wage — 15 Jan 2014 at 18:49

The majority of MPs voted against strengthening the enforcement of the minimum wage, against increasing the national minimum wage, and against encouraging employers to pay a living wage.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • celebrates the 15th anniversary of the introduction of the National Minimum Wage, which falls this year, and the contribution it has made to making work pay, boosting living standards and tackling in-work poverty;
  • notes that, before the National Minimum Wage was established, poverty pay was widespread and that the Conservative Party and many Liberal Democrat hon. Members opposed its introduction;
  • further notes that families are on average £1,600 worse off a year and that the National Minimum Wage is now worth less in real terms than in May 2010;
  • further notes that the Government has not backed up its promise to name and shame firms not paying the minimum wage;
  • calls on the Government to strengthen enforcement of the National Minimum Wage, including by increasing fines for non-payment of the National Minimum Wage and giving local authorities enforcement powers; and
  • further calls on the Government to encourage employers to pay a living wage and take action to restore the value of the National Minimum Wage so that the UK can earn its way out of the cost of living crisis and to help control the cost of social security.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con253 (+1 tell) 0083.3%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab0 225 (+2 tell)088.3%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 0080.4%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:298 235083.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive